Pro Antennas

www.proantennas.co.uk

CUSTOMER FEEDBACK 

Latest Dual Beam Pro Review from USA! January 2015 
 
Good morning Carl,
 
I just wanted to say again, this is the best antenna I have ever owned. Just this morning, I have made 30 contacts in an hour. My past contacts were to Honduras, Italy, Northern Ireland, Canada and Cyprus. I have never contacted many of these countries before. All this, and the antenna is only 3 feet off the ground. All on different bands as well.

Thanks again,
Bob W8PRO
 

 Dual Beam Pro customer experience! November 2014

I bought this antenna, because it fits exactly on my balcony. The parts fit perfect and it was easy to assemble the few parts. It is very light and I use it with an eight meter mast and it works really great. You can find pictures on http://www.qrz.com/db/oe1ens 

With my old Icom IC-735 with just 100 watts I had already SSB QSO's with 59 from Austria to the USA. I think the performance of the Dual Beam Pro is worth the money.

OE1ENS 

 

 
Latest 2014 I-Pro Traveller customer experience!
 
Hi dear OM Carl!
 
After a long time some news from myside about my I-Pro Traveller antenna. I hope it is interrresting for you to hear what my antenna has done. A week ago i worked in the evening hours with some european stations on 40M with the 40M coil in, and do hear in the background a station calling from the USA. WA2YVD is calling cq on 40 M, i am quite sure he cannot hear me, but lets try. So i started to answer him, and what should i tell you: after three or four calls from my side he is coming with my callsign. He is able to hear me!!! I do not trust my ears but we have had a qso over 5 minutes, he gave a report from 4/4 sometimes 3/3 but most of the time 4/4 and in the last minute my report was 5/4. So i am very very happy with my I-Pro Traveller also on the 40M band, i love working on the higher bands but now i know she is doing also a very fine job.
 
So many thanks for that fine antennas and your very good and fast support for questions when I built it up here.
 
All the best for 2014 to you and yours dear Carl.
 
DG1SGW, KLAUS in WEINSTADT, GERMANY
 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
I-PRO TAVELLER review from Mike G3UCT 19/09/13
 
Hello Carl
 
After 6 weeks' use, I must say how pleased I am with the I-Pro Traveller. Quick and easy to erect, providing excellent SWR on all the bands that I've worked, especially 20 & 15 (my favourites) with some excellent DX - including Mongolia, Brazil, Saudi Arabia, Japan, plus many around the USA, all with good reports. Importantly, no reports of local interference, even with the linear on - and my neighbours haven't yet noticed the antenna sitting in a secluded corner of the garden!
 
Regards, Mike G3UCT
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 
I-PRO HOME, Latest review from Gerhard OE6MFG

Hello Carl
 
I have the I-Pro Home antenna now for about 2 months and would like to briefly tell you about my experiences.
I ordered the antenna at WIMO Germany. (it is the old version with 400 watts)
I am very very happy with the antenna. I had for the bands 20-10 meters always a shortened dipole of Alpha Delta (a DX-CC) in use.
But the difference in the reception alone is enormous. I had my first QSO with the west coast of the USA (California and Oregon) to 15 meters and 100 watts. The antenna is mounted about 1.5 m above the ground in my garden.
I want order the new I-Pro Home Antenna next year.
(higher performance and with 6 meters). Or is there an extension kit?

Thanks for the great antenna!
Best regards!

73 de Gerhard (OE6MFG)
 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 
DUAL BEAM PRO 7/05/13
 
Hi Carl
 
Today I’ve spoken to just about every state here in Australia as well as New Zealand, Germany and Bulgaria  - all on the Dual Beam Pro !

I’m really pleased and very impressed with the performance of this antenna – I can all of a sudden hear stations that I could never hear before and they can also hear me loud and clear !

Thanks for designing and bringing to market such a great antenna.

Thanks also for always taking the time to reply to my questions – I really appreciate it.

 

Kind Regards

Paul

VK3MVS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

DUAL BEAM PRO 25/3/13 
 
Hi Carl,

Just letting you know about my experience so far with the Dual Beam Pro

The receive performance on the DB is great. Yesterday I was receiving
9K2KH from Kuwait on S5-6
and this morning got a 59 from Madeira.

I'm hearing a lot more traffic compared to my old vertical.

I've got it pointed roughly for east - west propagation, Stateside
traffic is greatly improved.

All in all I am pleased with it and am looking forward to having a lot
of contacts with it.

I will happily point my friends in your direction.

All the best,

73s

Steph  G4XKH
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 
Breaking news on The New Model Dual Beam Pro!
 
Hi Carl
 
Thank you for allowing me to test and compare the new matching transformer alongside the original, it's still early days but I thought I would update you. Some days I could just detect the 6m beacon GB3BAA, now with the new matching transformer I can hear it so much clearer every day. HF band performance appears to be the same but with improved tuning, I no longer need to use an external tuner for 40 and 30m, my TS-590 built in tuner is perfect. I must say it's so nice to see a high quality SO239 socket, with a gold plated centre connector, PTFE insulation and stainless steel dome nuts, this is the sort of quality you only see on mil spec equipment. I know you don't claim 4m coverage but I have achieved some local contacts with reasonable reports.
 
73
 
G4DKM   
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

CARL 

THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP WITH  EXPLAINING THE DUAL BEAM PRO ANTENNA, I HAVE SENT SOME PICTURES FOR YOU TO POST ON YOUR SITE WITH MY REPORT IF YOU WANT. I CALLED CARL TO GET SOME HELP WITH MY ANTENNA SELECTION AFTER HAVING SO MUCH CONFLICTING ADVICE I HAD TRIED A COMET TRAPPED DIPOLE BUT IT DID NOT WORK FOR ME AS MY SPACE IS VERY SMALL AND MY QTH IS IN A DIP SURROUNDED BY HOUSES. I WAS ABOUT TO GIVE UP ON THE HOBBY BUT AFTER TALKING TO CARL HE ASSURED ME THE DUAL BEAM PRO WOULD SOLVE MY PROBLEMS, SO I PURCHASED ONE. IT ARRIVED THE NEXT DAY VERY WELL PACKAGED.

MY WIFE ASSEMBLED THE ANTENNA FOR ME AS I AM DISABLED AND PUT IT UP ON AN ACROW AROUND 30 FEET, I MADE MY FIRST  CALL TO A STATION IN 
IRELAND AND THEY CAME STRAIGHT BACK TO ME WITH A REPORT OF S9+20dB I COULD NOT BELIVE IT, AS BEFORE I COULD NOT GET OUT ANYWHERE, ANOTHER  STATION CAME IN CALLING ME FROM LEON AGAIN S9+20dB AND I CAN  ONLY RUN 10 WATTS,  I THEN HAD TO GET A CUPPA TO CALM DOWN  AS I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT, MY  RADIO HOBBY IS FINALLY A GO SITUATION.
 
I WOULD URGE ANYONE TO BUY A DUAL BEAM PRO IT REALLY  WORKS

THANKS CARL

73'S FROM M6CCP
PAUL
QTH SHOREHAM  BY SEA WEST SUSSEX ENGLAND
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I-PRO HOME REVIEW 

Carl

After your answer I bought a used I-Pro Home from a ham in Germany. I set it up just the way I described in my first email to you and I must say that the results are overwhelming. The antenna has an SWR form < 1.4:1 on every band I used so far. On most bands it has a SWR < 1,2:1.

Without any effort I reached the following countries using PSK-31:
  • Kuwait on 20m
  • Venezuela on 20m
  • Japan on 20m
  • Scottland on 20m
  • European Russia on 20m and 40m
  • Norway on 20m
  • Canada on 20m
  • Cyprus on 20m
  • Poland on 40m
  • Sweden on 40m
  • Ukraine on 20m
  • England on 20m

The I-Pro Home is really a masterpiece of antenna technology.

I attached two photo of the elevated setup for your information.

Best regards
Chris - OE3CWU

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dual Beam Pro Review

Carl


I wanted to let you know how pleased I am with the Dual Beam Pro. It has pulled in stations from all over the world and has allowed me to get out to South America on just 50 watts.
 
If/when I pass my Full licence it will enable me to work the world easily, It is also noticeably quieter than my wire and delta as well as being more efficient.

The post it is mounted on slipped in a strong wind the other night. Although there was slight damage to the mast, the aerial survived without any damage at all. A compliment to the engineering quality. I also love the way I only have to rotate 90 degrees and not the full 180.

Thanks for a great product that works really well

Nigel Auckland
2E0NAJ
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl,

I purchased a Dual Beam Pro from you and started running it on 30th May 2012.

The reason for my purchase was that I had virtually exhausted my current antenna systems as regards places I could contact. My antenna system did comprise of 80M to 10M Dipole (SRX80-Snowdonia Antennas, now out of business I think) the base of this antenna had to go back as soon as I put it up! But was returned with no improvement! My other antenna for HF is an inverted G5RV which I cannot fault as the centre is 22ft high and the ends end up at 45deg apart but only 5ft from the ground.

I run a program called DX Atlas and decided to ‘snap-shot’ the map up to using the Dual Beam Pro (see Gallery). I then started a new map just using the Dual Beam Pro for one month only (see Gallery), the results for me were and are outstanding. Remember I am an M3 and restricted to 10W output power. I use a FT-767GX with the standard mike the power is set to 10W but on certain bands peaks at 12W, but hey, these results are stunning I even get through ‘pile-ups’.

Great job Carl and I am always telling contacts that the reason I’m talking to them is because of my new pride and joy, my ‘Dual Beam Pro’. A comment from VK7ZX Laurie in Tasmania is worth mentioning ‘I think I will chop all mine down and get one of those’! He has an amazing antenna farm yet I gave him a 59 and he gave me a 56! Enough said.

Well done on creating such an effective and affordable antenna.

Kindest Regards,

Ken Skerry, MBCS, FIAP.

M3YWH 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

I-PRO HOME REVIEW 

Hi Carl

Well, finally got the antenna up despite the weather, and I am truly amazed at the difference between the Hustler and the I-Pro Home. At last I can hear ALL the signal, I’ve worked into Dubai ,Japan and Croatia with ease and I've not used the Linear yet! Many thanks for your help and advice.

David Inns GM0RTY

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl

I just wanted to thank you for your great antenna Dual Beam Pro, It is now installed and working very well, it is easily beating my Windom wire antenna on 20m, 17m, 15m, 12m and 10 meters.
 
Best 73 de Aatos OH8JEP

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Hi Carl
 
My initial results are impressive, it's certainly providing a worth while leap in performance over my fixed wire dipoles. I called in to Pro Antennas to pick up a Dual Beam Pro antenna system. Carl the owner was most helpful and took the time to show me some of the product's design features. I was impressed to see materials had been carefully selected and they should provide good long term dielectric properties. The use of solid GRP rod for the centre insulator, the matching transformer is built with low loss components, PTFE coil former wound with Teflon (PTFE) covered wire. I have an RF engineering back ground and it's easy to see that this product has been carefully thought out, it should stand the test of time with its high quality components. Being light weight it easy to handle/rotate and simplicity itself to build with no fussy adjustments.
 
This product has certainly put the fun back into the hobby and I highly recommend it!
 
73

G4DKM 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Thanks Carl,

I will give it a try. Also, I just thought I would let you know that I was on 20m early on Saturday morning and long path to VK was open. I thought therefore I would have some fun and operate QRP. I had two contacts into Australia using the FT450D, Dual Beam Pro and 10 watts. Now that to me is the fun of radio. I really don’t see the point of running 1Kw like some stations do, you might as well pick up the flipping phone.

Still having lots of fun with the antenna Carl!

Regards

Andy 2E0KMP

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl,

Having owned he Dual Beam Pro for nearly a year now, I thought that I would drop you a line to let you know how it is going.
 
Well basically, I continue to be impressed on its performance 20m through to 10m and it also tunes nicely on 6m. I have the antenna permanently fixed beaming East -West at 30ft using RG mini 8.
 
I have had numerous good signal reports using this antenna with 50watts, but the most notable as the other week with VK2IZI on 20M who gave me a report of 58!!
 
I have also had some terrible weather at my QTH this winter but the antenna has sailed through with no problems.
 
The next time I need an antenna, I will buy the exactly the same one from you again.
 
Regards
Andy
2E0KMP

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl, just thought I'd update you since my original testimonial of

the Dual Beam Pro last year.

This antenna still amazes me with it's superb performance, as this
morning on 15m japanese station JA4NHE was calling CQ DX.
I quickly tuned up the Dual Beam Pro and gave him a shout. He came
back to me on my first call with a 5-7 to Hiroshima! Not bad for just
100 watts and my Alinco DX-70!
Cheers Carl for a small footprint antenna that actually does what it
says on the tin!

Look forward to any new antenna designs that you may have in the future.

73 de Lee M0DDU
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Canadian update 17/03/12

Carl

Just want you to know that I have been operating on a regular basis using the Dual Beam Pro, OK at least every weekend. The antenna is in a fixed position and only approx 9m above ground. No rotator and the antenna is 'pointed' in a northwest/southeast direction.  I have sorted out 10m and am now able to operate 10 through 40m.
 
Worked HK0NA and ZS2XD on 15m, just to mention a few. Loads of stuff during the ARRL DX SSB contest including Guam, Kure, Hawaii, Argentina, Japan, Costa Rica, and more. All with 100W into the antenna and pileups everywhere.

But here is a big point, we have been experiencing winds in excess of 70 kmh on a regular basis and I have no worries about the antenna surviving!!  Nice, low profile.
 
73
 
Stephen VE6CGH
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl

Just thought I would let you know my thoughts on the Dual Beam Pro I purchased last month.
 
After giving it a lot of thought & reading comments & reviews, I decided to give one a try so I took the plunge & purchased a Dual Beam Pro. I finally erected it on my mast & Yaesu G-650 rotator at approximately 42ft last week, I used a new length of RG213 24mtrs long however when I tried to tune the antenna it was struggling to tune on the 40 - 15 & 17mtr bands using the tuner in my IC-775 DSP. I then lowered the mast & removed 12ft of coax & returned to the shack, great it tuned every band from 40 to 10 mtrs with ease also it tuned on 80 mtrs.I was amazed at how well the Dual Beam Pro was receiving on 40-20-17 & 15 mtrs, below is a list of the first few stations I worked including reports.
 
TM9WAP...... 7.140.00.......RX 5-9+....TX 5-9+
IT0RXF...... 18.150.00.......RX 5-9+....TX 5-9
M0PAW...... 7.130.00.......RX 5-9+....TX 5-9+
9K2F............21.266.00..... RX 5-9+....TX 5-9
LZ1 134GO....18.125.00......RX 5-9......TX 5-9
HS0ZIQ.........14255.00.......RX 5-7......TX 5-7
 
All the above worked with 150 Watts from my IC-775DSP Antenna @ 42ft rotated. Band conditions reported as fair to at the time.
No one was more surprised than me at the results "I don't know how this antenna does it but it certainly works for me". Is it worth the money.....yes & I would buy again!
73's
Paul M0BHN
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 
 
Dual Beam Pro Review
 
Hi Carl
 
Everything working very well now, I am impressed with the quality of the receive, was working into USA yesterday.
The Dual Beam Pro tunes down on all bands to 1 to 1 with tuner, I am very pleased with your design and build Carl congratulations from
G1LQT. Please feel free to use my installation pictures for anything Carl 73's and thanks again.
 
Regards

Colin Matthews G1LQT

Dual Beam Pro Review

Canadian customer VE6CGH

Carl

I finally got the antenna up a few weeks ago and have been operating off and on since.  Works awesome on all bands except 10m (doesn't tune through antenna tuner (Kenwood AT-50)) but no matter.  I think I may have that one sorted as I don't quite have the minimum length of coax you mentioned and the antenna is at about 9m above ground so I couldn't make the min distance you suggested.   But "woooohoooo" on the other bands.  I have made contacts on 40m but have not been on at optimum times yet.  Just worked the ARRL Sweepstakes and went from Alaska to Florida and Connecticut to California without a problem.  I have also had excellent reports from Italy, Norway and Japan.  All in all at this point, I would recommend this antenna to anyone with restricted space or wanting a "low profile" for an antenna.

Stephen 
VE6CGH
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dual Beam Pro Review
 
USA customer KE6WSH 
 
Dear Pro Antennas
 
Wow is about the only words I can say about the Dual Beam Pro! I have the antenna about 25 feet in the air. The antenna is very quiet I am hearing stations that my g5rv wasn't hearing and if I hear them I can talk to them. I have never had contacts on 15 meters England, Poland, Italy! I have only had the Dual Beam Pro up one day but wow! A little about my station icom ic-718 with 100 watts.
 
Again thanks this antenna has brought my HF radio to life! thanks for the great product.
 
73's KE4WSH George
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
I-PRO HOME REVIEW
 
Hi Carl
 
What can I say about this antenna, let me think ? MAGIC, it is the difference of what night is to day. So easy to build, it was the best and most relaxing hour i have spent all week.
I have put the I-Pro Home up on a 3 meter pole and guyed it as recommended. Will try also on a 1 meter pole to see if it makes any difference.
At the moment i have used RG 58 coax 30 meters in length. This will be changed to 213 when it arrives.
Only had time to listen on my new Kenwood TS 480 sat and also tried it on my Yaesu FT 857D, AMAZING much better than other verticals i have had IE hustler also even the comet h422 .
Will give a report on the progress very soon also do a review for E Ham as i don't think there is one on at the moment. Please feel free to use this report if you so wish.
 
awra best fa 2M0BYI Myles 
 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl, I have just purchased a Dual Beam Pro and would like to congratulate you on a very simple construction which only took me about 15 minutes to put together.

The antenna is up and running and is being used with a rotator. I have been listening around the bands this evening and couldn't
believe how quiet this antenna is across the HF spectrum. Stations that I couldn't previously hear on a vertical are now readable. I also have a plasma television which used to radiate on 40 metres quite badly with the vertical, but on the Dual Beam Pro it is not there, result! Reception is also very good on 40m & 80m with a low noise floor.

My first TX contact this afternoon was into Lithuania on 17m with a 5-9+20 report (10 w) and this evening to Neil W6CQW in 
Burlington USA on 20m also with a 5-9 report (100w). He heard me first call, something that was very difficult to do before.

I will be taking some photos of the Dual beam here at my QTH and can e-mail some to you if required for your testimonial page.

Thanks Carl, I look forward to working many more stations with this antenna.

Regards

LEE M0DDU

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl,

Thought I would update you to the performance of the new Dual Beam pro. (now over 2 months owned)

I have now worked Canada VE3AXW and Brazil  PY6RT– something  I never could get on my existing Vertical Antenna.

Also I have found out that the Dual Beam Pro will tune up on 6m. Not exactly scientific, or I guess very efficient but I am getting very good signal reports 59+ into Spain, Italy, Portugal, Russia etc.

I am just waiting on an opening to USA and to Africa. Sometimes the Beam outperforms the tri-band vertical on top of the beam. 5-1 on vertical – 59+ on beam.

All the fun of radio has returned.

Thank you (G6CPX)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dual Beam Pro Review
 
Hello Carl.
 
Just a quick update on the antenna, after the storm here at start of the week (23/05/11) when mother nature was ripping trees down and roof's off the Dual Beam Pro sat there very happy to be blown about and sailed through it safely. Wind speed up to 70/80 miles mph at times gusting at 60mph most of the time.
 
I wonder how many op's lost tribanders and quads.
73.
Stevie.
MI0GTA 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Carl,

Your my hero!

After my initial problems with the DSL router’s  power supply being obliterated with 20m and then I found an IDE adapter generating S9 of noise I have now found that I can get the signals that were so missing and the background noise is where it should be.

I can hear so many DX stations calling today.

I have just worked my first USA contact on 20m – KC8UWZ in Ohio.

He gave me a 59+ running 100W into the Dual Beam Pro.

What a result – I’m so pleased,  I was jumping up and down with excitement!

Thanks again for your patience and help

Kind regards,

Mark G6CPX

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Dual Beam Pro Review
 
Hi to all at Pro Antennas

I would like to say the antenna is excellent, to make the antenna up takes no time at all, I had it together within 10 mins, it was so easy. Took longer to solder on two, PL259 plugs onto a length of coax.

I done some testing this weekend before mounting the antenna permanently, the antenna was put on a tripod guyed in the middle of the garden, the antenna is about 18 feet high.
 
First of all I had a listen on 40m, I could hear loads of stations and most stations were strong or stronger than what I was used too, I compared the Dual Beam Pro to what I had been using which is either a End fed long wire of around 120 feet long or Hustler BTV6. And I will say that the Dual Beam Pro beats them both. I have noticed a great improvement in signal readings with an increase of around 6 'S' points on most bands.
 
My best dx, so far with the dual beam pro is Japan on 17m and Venezuela on 15m. I am over the moon, I have never been able to hear these stations before.
 
I can’t wait to put this up permanently, and I plan to put it up around 25 feet high with a rotator. I'm that impressed with it, that I may purchase another one for portable use, as it is easy to make up and am lightweight.
 
I would have no problem recommending this antenna to other hams, that have limited space or funds. This is definitely worth it.
 
I have no problems you adding this information to your website if you wish to, I just thought you would like to know how happy I am with your antenna, and I plan to have many hours playing radio thanks to you.
 
Best regards
 
Andrew Goldsmith  2E0GOL
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Dual Beam Pro Review
 
Hi Carl.
Just wanted to say, mni tnx for your great Dual Beam Pro antenna.
Mounted on a 21ft scaff pole with a light weight rotator, agl 30ft, I over look the river here in the city, which helps, worked VE7, VK6, VK7,VK3, JA and a load more countries, doing alot better now on this antenna.
 
73 and keep up the good work.
Stevie MI0GTA

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl

Just got round to reveiwing the antenna, I'm over the moon with the results, managed to work stations in australia, argentina and china, need I say more!

Best regards

Malcolm Norton
G1OHT (colchester)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl

The Dual Beam Pro arrived today as promised, it's already in the air:

Mark. G0MGX 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Dual Beam Pro Review

Hi Carl

I purchased a Dual Beam Pro two weeks ago it is working extremely well. I have installed it on a 10m tennamast with a light weight rotator. I am a foundation licence holder and for the first time working state side on my 10 watts so very happy, I just thought I would provide you with some feed back.

 
Thank you for a great antenna Gary M6GJS

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Dual Beam Pro Review

I ordered the antenna in December it came very well packaged, due to the severe weather it was the beginning of February before it was installed.

The installation instructions are comprehensive and easy to follow, the antenna itself is very well made I was very impressed.
I installed the Dual Beam Pro on a rotator at a height of eleven metres above ground and with feeder length of 21 metres I used Wesflex 103. My rig is the Icom 756 pro 111 although it has a built in auto tuner and tunes the antenna 20-10m I have chosen to use a LDG at 200 pro auto tuner, I feel it gives a better performance over all bands.
Performance wise I am very pleased .
40M USA, Canada E. Siberia 17M. Kuwait  USA Canada Brazil
20M Brazil Venezuela Kuwait USA Canada
73
Ken G3VBA
 
Update from Ken G3VBA 18/02/11
News just in from Ken, he has just worked  his first VK on 10m, he is delighted with his SSB contact with VK3LPG
 
Thank you Ken for sharing your latest Dual Beam Pro experience!
73
Carl Kidd G4GTW
Pro Antennas 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW

Latest I-Pro Traveller news, Anthony G0WFG explores the effectiveness of his FT-817 when used with an I-Pro Vertical antenna, follow this link for his experience  >>G0WFG<<

..................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW

Mike G0WSB takes his I-Pro Traveller to Devon, follow this link for his I-Pro Vertical experience!  >>G0WSB<<

 ................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW 

Carl,
Have just operated mobile with the motorhome for the first time.
Excellent!
A). My wife was watching the television only 8 ft away, through a typical van aerial and pre-amp. No sign of TVI at 100w pep. No doubt due to the dipole being at or near resonance.
B). Even on 40m where the physical dimensions of the dipole are extremely short, I have been able to hold my own in European nets.
C). Very easy to deploy with repeatable resonance and swr. Just 5 minutes and it's ready to operate.
Please feel free to use this email
In any advertising.
In all, the best portable aerial I have ever used. Thanks Carl
73

Martin Smith
K.UK Ltd
 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW 

Hi Carl,

I thought I’d let you know that all was well when I unpacked the antenna. I must compliment you on the standard of manufacture, packing and presentation. First class! All went together easily and a first few contacts made without trouble. I’m looking forward to taking it to Italy. 

73

Nick

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW

Hi Carl

This is an astonishing antenna! Used it on 20 to lose my cherry of almost 30 years of not being QRV . Probably be up all night now, but what the hell. Erected it in less than 15 minutes, and it just works. I was suspicious of the 1:1 SWR until I worked my  first QSO. And of course I can lay it flat if there are any questions asked. Now listening to DX which I haven’t heard for years.

So, can’t fault it. Money well spent. Well done.

73

Jon G4AXE
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW 

Carl, I'm not sure what i should say to you regarding this antenna, apart from INCREDIBLE, i just love it, from the minute i opened the bag and saw the care you had taken to pack it properly i knew it was going to be a good antenna. But  i had no idea it was going to be this enjoyable to use.

I just cannot believe how easy it is to put together and handle, my little boy Josh 7years old did everything bar put the top section on, he even fed the solder in to the pl259s hi hi!
He was so chuffed after the first contact was made and really enjoyed himself, as did i. Wonderfully put together, quality piece of ham radio kit!
 
Under poor conditions this evening,
 
T77M...59 59
 
YO5AM 59 59
 
7X2VFK 55 REPORT RECEIVED 58
 
JW5HPA 59 59
I am at the moment switching between the quad at 35 feet and the i-pro on 14.210 listening to a station in midwest usa, he is 4/3 to 5/4 on the i-pro..... i cannot get a clear copy on him with the quad!
 
Obviousely it is very early days and i am sure conditions will change from day to day giving differing results with diferent angles of signals etc.
 
Anyhow it works, i will try the other bands as soon as i get the chance, i'll keep a log of contacts.
 
By the way output power for the above contacts was 40 watts pep.
 
I have the acom 1000 on standby, but havent had to use it yet! Most unusual for me!
 
Regards and thanks for a really great product.
Bob M0MJA Exeter Devon
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW
 
Hi Carl,
Thanks for the antenna, received yesterday afternoon.
My first contact was with SI9AM on 14.225, he gave me
5/9+and I gave him the same. My next contact was on 18.155 9H1VC and both ways was 5/9.
And the antenna was at the back of our cottage between all the houses around us.
So the next couple of weeks I shall be trying some different frequencies.
Thanks for your help
Regards,
Koos de GU0GUX Guernsey
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW

Hawaii 7290 miles 20m contact. Carl G4GTW/P congrats on working me with the modest antenna. You are in the log of KH7XS at 17:28Z on Feb 9, 2009,

73 Bill KH7XS/K4XS

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I-PRO TRAVELLER REVIEW 

Hi Carl

This antenna has put the excitement back into the hobby. Operating close to salt water, I broke a Euro pile up on 20m and worked VK7CEJ (Tasmania). On the 17m band I was working east coast USA, but the icing on the cake was working W7RSC (Salt Lake City). When I'm not using it portable it is set up in my small garden, this is one portable antenna that won't be collecting dust for most of the year! The DMV Pro is proving to be one of my best amateur radio purchases.

Clint, M0OPV

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Interesting Samples from the log book of G4GTW/P

The I-PRO Traveller

 17/03/09 KD4AF-North Carolina 17m portable/QRP SSB contact, witnessed by Mike G0WSB, report of R5+S4 with a reduced power output down to 1/2 watt from the FT-817 close to salt water. 

The I-PRO Traveller

Hawaii 7290 miles 20m contact. Carl G4GTW/P congrats on working me with the modest antenna. You are in the log of KH7XS at 17:28Z on Feb 9, 2009,

73 Bill KH7XS/K4XS

The I-PRO Traveller

G4GTW had an Incredible S9 40m SSB contact with New Zealand/Ed ZL4IR at 09:15 17/12/09 this on air conatct is available on Youtube.